How To make Vegan Cheddar Cheese: Recipe Video

You Might Like These ...

Can you believe that it is possible to make cheddar cheese from split red lentils? I believed it when I saw it. You can buy these red lentils at any Indian grocery store. The Indian name for these split red lentils is “split masoor dal.” The rest of the stuff is tapioca starch, any non-dairy milk, salt, some garlic powder, paprika, and a generous quantity of nutritional yeast.

When buying the ingredients, one needs to be careful to buy unsweetened and unflavored non-dairy milk. My guess is that soy milk will work best for this recipe.

The process is straightforward, as you will learn from this video. Wash the split red lentils with plain water and then boil them in some more fresh water. When fully cooked, let them cool down. Then, add non-dairy milk and the flavoring ingredients and blend everything until you get a smooth paste. Add some more milk and blend again. Once you have a smooth, watery mix, shift it to a pan, boil, and keep stirring until the desired consistency of the cheese is achieved. Be generous with nutritional yeast for that extra cheesy flavor.

Try it now to make that great vegan grilled cheese.

Video credit: Plantifully Based YouTube channel.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here